The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Austin makes great popcorn!

on August 3, 2008

5/10/08

And even Midnight thinks so, too! Austin gets some great food ideas every now and again and I’m always impressed. Maybe because his father, whom I love and adore just the way he is, rarely does anything in the kitchen that doesn’t involve a microwave and something that’s already been made.

Austin told me awhile back that he wanted more flavor in his popcorn. He had seen little jars of popcorn flavoring at Blockbuster. He loooooooooooves garlic on anything so I introduced him to garlic salt. So now his masterpiece popcorn has garlic salt and Butter Buds on it. I have to admit, I always hope there’s some left for me. If you have, or had, a 12 year old boy in your house, you know it’s no big deal for them to eat an entire bag of microwave popcorn all by themselves.

The kitties are doing good. I *think* I have their kitty litter distribution system nipped in the bud. I was all over the Alaska room. ALL over!! But I moved it to a better location and got a sweet little dustpan and sweeper set. All I had before was a straw whisk broom that had been used many times outside to do Lord knows what by the kids. It had seen better days and wasn’t doing a good job with the kitty litter war. I had seen a much better type of sweeper on “John & Kate Plus Eight” and now I had a perfect excuse to get it. Yep, that’s what my life has come to. Being excited about a sweeper and dustpan.

Speaking of “John & Kate Plus Eight” . . . . . . dang I love that show. I now have Amber addicted to it, too. For those of you who don’t know, it’s a TLC program about a couple who had twins (using fertility drugs) and decided to try for one more. They got six! I don’t know how they do it. The mom talks a lot about how loud it is around their house. I remember how loud it was – and still can be – with just my two. Especially Austin. He’s as loud as three kids! He has gotten better, sorta.

Having a girl is so much fun! We’ve started liking some of the same shows, Dancing with the Stars, American Idol, Little People, Big World, J&K+8 and she’s just started really liking What Not to Wear. And that pretty much encompasses everything I watch on t.v. So obviously my daughter has excellent taste!

Not much going on here today – as if you couldn’t tell by the less than riveting blog entry! We’re going to go see my parents tomorrow afternoon for Mother’s Day and that should be fun. I don’t know what the weather is supposed to be like, but if its nice maybe we can go to a park or something and let the kids run off their never ending supply of energy!

Happy Mother’s Day to all my mommy friends and my two very special moms to be, Becca and Tracey!!! I think only two of you are pregnant with your first. I know Kendra is pregnant with her fourth so hopefully the little ones will have a festivity for her!

Leave a Reply

