The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Friday Five is Alive!

on August 3, 2008

3/28/08

Friday Five is alive! Here’s a link to the new group site *click here*

Let’s choose five people we admire and why. Obviously, many of these folks are likely to be friends and family members, but I challenge you to also include a couple of public figures in there as well. Sometimes it seems like the leaders and entertainers in our world don’t do much that deserves admiration, but I know with the brain power in our Friday Five pool that we can think of a few!

There are plenty of people in my private life I admire, but I’m going to try to keep this to people everyone would know, or people who have “put themselves out there.”

1. Jesus Christ – I know, some of you will think this is trite and cliche, but it’s my truth. However, I don’t know if “admire” is a deep enough word to reflect all I feel for my Savior. More fitting is the hymn that states, “Jesus paid it all, All to Him I owe. Sin had left a crimson stain, He washed it white as snow.”

2. Beth Moore – I’ve said it before, no other human has had such an impact on my Christian life. She writes Bible studies, books and is a gifted teacher. In January I finished one of her new devotional books titled, “Jesus: 90 Days with the One and Only.” I bawled when I was done it was so good.

3. Alec Baldwin – HA! Just seeing if you’re paying attention.

For Real 3. All the men and women in the military, past, present and future – I was watching Celebrity Apprentice and the charity Piers was playing for was the Intrepid Fallen Soldiers. They did a piece on the rehabilitation center and it made it all more real to me the sacrifices our military makes for us on a daily basis. At this point, I have no idea where I stand on the war. But I know where I stand on the people in the military. They are heroes and deserve nothing less than the best the country has to offer. Sadly, that is rarely their reality.

4. On the heels of #4 I would have to say everyone who uses their life to make a difference in other’s lives. This could take so many forms – nurses, doctors, police officers (all branches of law enforcement), teachers, fire fighters, ministers, people who work for non-profit organizations and make a fraction of what they could make in private industry. And people who volunteer – who know their hard work is not going to result in a paycheck. But they’re compelled by love and that’s all that matters.

5. William Wilberforce – for tirelessly working to put an end to the atrocity of slavery. I wonder how our country could have been different if we had one man such as he willing to do what was right. If you haven’t seen the movie “Amazing Grace” I suggest you do.

Leave a Reply

