The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Ginger Update

on August 3, 2008

1/3/08

Ginger was put to sleep today. I know it was the best thing. Her breathing, spine and skin problems were past the point of getting better. The vet said outside of very expensive surgery for her breathing – which he recommends to no one since there’s no guarantee – there was really nothing to be done for her. I had a feeling last night watching her. Now I am glad I prepared the kids.
We’re going to go do something fun this afternoon. I’m doing okay. I thought I was doing better than I was until the vet left me in the office alone with Ginger at the end. I know Ginger knows she was loved – we loved her for her whole life; from 11 weeks to 10 years old. And spoiled her, too.
So now as I watch my chihuahua lick her rear end with wild abandon I will try not to think about how she will never, ever live up to being as good as her big sister. At least she makes me laugh. Always has.
Thank you for your kind words in my previous blog. I’ve decided I agree with Becca. People who don’t care about animals are the ones with problems.

Leave a Reply

