The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

He is Risen!

on August 3, 2008

3/22/08

. . . . . .He is risen indeed! I originally posted this blog two years ago for Easter. And I think I copied and posted it last year. And here it is again this year. I’m too busy to have an original thought!

Happy Easter everyone. I hope in all the candy infused mayhem that is attacking your home today, you remember the real “reason for the season.” New hope in a living Savior. A Savior who didn’t just do all the pretty, legalistic things. But a Savior who came down to earth, got dirty with us, died a horrible, unimaginable death so we could have life. So we could never say, “Yeah, but look at this . . . . . it’s way worse than what Christ had to go through.” He was tempted in every way known to man – He is a Savior we can have complete trust and faith in.

Which leads me to one of my Top Five favorite stories from the bible. I read it this morning for the wonder of the story and for a laugh. It is taken from John 20:10-15:

Then the disciples went back to their homes, but Mary (Magdalene) stood outside the tomb crying. As she wept, she bent over to look into the tomb and saw two angels in white, seated where Jesus’ body had been, one at the head and the other at the foot. They asked her, “Woman, why are you crying?” “They have taken my Lord away, ” she said, “and I don’t know where they have put Him.” At this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there, but she did not realize that it was Jesus. “Woman,” He said, “why are you crying? Who are you looking for?” Thinking it was the gardener, she said, “Sir, if you have carried Him away, tell me where you have put Him, and I will get Him.”

I love this for so many reasons, but here are the top ones. Isn’t it just like a woman to want to make everything right? Even though there was probably no way Mary could have carried Jesus back to the tomb, she was ready to do it. That speaks to me so much as a wife and mother (and just so you don’t get the wrong idea, NO, I don’t believe Mary M. and Jesus were married . . . . . that’s a soapbox I’ll save for another day). No matter the problem, even if there is no way I can accomplish it, I’ll do it. In my emotional reaction, nothing is impossible. Mary is such a good example of this aspect of womanhood.

I also like the fact that she thought the gardener was there. I mean, her beloved Jesus was in the tomb, so wouldn’t everyone be there to make it pretty, especially the one in charge? It makes perfect sense to me . . . . I always say, “I love my life, that’s why I decorate it!”
And despite Mary’s “irrational” reactions, she’s still the one Jesus chose to appear to first – even before he had ascended to heaven. And no matter how much I feel like Mary in my life, I am comforted that I don’t have to be perfect, or even logical, for Jesus to come to me. And like Hagar in the Old Testament, He will find me in my distress and hurt. Praise His glorious Name!

Leave a Reply

