The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Just for today . . . . .

on August 3, 2008

5/9/08

. . . . or tonight, by the looks of the clock! Anyway, Mom had the meeting with the oncologist and she does have cancer. But thankfully it’s the type that responds well to chemotherapy. The chemo won’t cure her, but it will prolong her life. I am so thankful. So utterly beyond thankful. My mind tends to always think the worst and I was so worried they’d tell her there was nothing they could do and send her home with hospice. The doctor told her 1-3 years. That’s music to my ears.

I feel like a huge shroud of worry and angst has been taken off my shoulders. I actually felt joy today. I am so relieved. Not knowing is the hardest part. So tonight I am truly rejoicing and knowing that “I am confident that I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living” (Psalm 27:13).

My precious husband had Monday – Friday off this week. Before we knew what all was going on as far as the test results, he took tomorrow off, too. He wanted to be home in case it was worst case news; he knew I might be a wreck if that happened. I am blessed.

I haven’t told the kids anything and don’t know what I will tell them. Probably as little as possible. The doctor in charge of her treatment wants to meet with my parents, my brother and me together this week. After that I’ll tell the kids something.

On a totally unrelated note – I’m watching “How It’s Made” with Austin. They’re showing how soapstone is cut and turned into counter tops and sinks. Too cool – I want new counter tops! Too bad I don’t have the money for it. Spent it all on the laptop I’m using, thus enabling me to watch t.v., blog, and want more stuff. It’s just a vicious cycle, isn’t it??

Thank you all for your kind words and support. We’re doing really well and my mom is doing great. She has always had a good attitude about things and she certainly does now. She’s a joy to be around and I feel better after being with her. I know chemo will not be a walk in the park, but I’m so thankful for the time I do have with her.

Leave a Reply

