The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Keeping Up

on August 3, 2008

1/29/08

Okay, it’s late, but I’m going to keep up with my journaling. Did you know today is the 72nd anniversary of the establishment of the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Yeah, me neither. The question for today is which team do you support and write some information about that team.

The minor league team I like is the Portland Beavers. Everything around here has to do with that state’s oversized rodent. Don’t get me started! The major league team I like is the Mariners. Now note that I said I liked them. I don’t follow them AT ALL. I don’t think I’ve ever watched one complete baseball game. It was just never a big deal in my house growing up. My dad was really into football but we were too busy out having fun in the summers to stay home and watch baseball. My kids have never had an interest in playing so it’s not popular in this house either.

It does remind me of a funny, if not painful, memory from college. It was spring and the college was starting its inter-varsity leagues on campus. Each dorm could put together a team. My dorm was short a gal or two. I had a bunch of girls beg me to be on the team. I told them I was horrible at anything remotely concerning a stick and a ball. They just laughed, complimented me on how funny I was and said, “C’mon, it’s just softball!” I think I signed on late so I never made it to a practice.

The first game we played was against the dorm that happened to house the women’s basketball team. This particular team was one of the best in our university’s conference. Suffice it to say we weren’t even a challenge to them. As long as I live I will never forget Theresa Bream (Sid Bream’s sister – he played for the Atlanta Braves in the early 90’s and is best known for scoring the winning run in Game 7 of the 1992 NLCS against the Pittsburgh Pirates which put the Braves in the World Series). She was an excellent athlete as well and was our opposing team’s pitcher. I don’t even think I was able to swing at the ball. I was so bad that the girls on my team (who so enthusiastically wanted me there, I might add) actually yelled at me. Like I was the ONLY person Theresa was striking out. I guess I was just the worst so they vented on me. I bet you’ll never guess that I quit after that game. For all I know I might have quit mid-game I was so mad. I told them I was horrible! I have never picked up a ball and bat again. And guess what? My life is no worse for it.

Leave a Reply

