The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Luscious Monday

on August 3, 2008

4/22/08

Which was yesterday. Yeah, I’m behind on the posting. What else is new?? A few weeks ago I helped my neighbor out of a major nanny jam and she gave me a gift certificate to a new restaurant in town, La Bottega. Tyler and I were finally able to get there for lunch yesterday and all I can say is that I have a new place to call my favorite restaurant in town. Before it was the homegrown pizza joint that had bicycle racing as it’s theme. I still love it, but La Bottega with it’s northern Italian cuisine has won my heart. And the best part is I realized the salad I had could probably be lovingly recreated in my kitchen! I had a chicken and almond salad sandwich, complete with potato chips. Which are cut and MADE in the restaurant. Oh. My. Word.

We came home and the kids were done with school so we had a game day. I, for once, didn’t lose every game miserably. In one hand, Tyler went from an Uno score of 7 to 111. Gotta love it when that happens. Uh, well, to everyone but me – . Austin was sure I was doing all the mean cards to him on purpose. Have I mentioned he’s embracing 12 year old hormones with a vengeance lately. UGH!

He went to a weekend camp on the coast with his youth department. Pretty standard post-camp stuff – he’s exhausted, he’s almost hoarse, his pillow is battered beyond recognition due to the late night pillow fights and he’s made me gasp more than once at his stories of things he and his friends did. The kid knows no fear – and neither do his friends. Or his camp counsellors from what I hear.

Last night the kids wanted to do something as a family and we ended up at the chi chi mall in Portland. Or should I say one of the chi chi malls. It’s the only one that has a Lego store and Austin was dying to go. He wants a Mindstorm NXT so bad he can’t stand it. It comes with a hefty price tag. What he doesn’t know is that Tyler’s mom is sending the money so he can buy it. When they were over here last she was fascinated with the Lego robots he can make just using parts from the bulldozer he got for Christmas. I’ll admit, I’m pretty amazed as well. I think he might cry when he gets the money. She’s sending the same amount of $$ for Amber. I think we’ll use it to decorate her “new” room.

Alrighty – trying to get the laundry done so I can start packing for Alaska. I’m bummed it isn’t going to be nice enough to wear my cute shoes. (The new pair just came in the mail and all I can say is oooh la la!) And it’s not nice enough to wear them here. Oh wait – it will be when I’M GONE!!!! What’s a shoe freak to do?

Leave a Reply

