The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

O Happy Day

on August 3, 2008

2/25/08

Life in our little household has been blissful as of late. I haven’t gotten too much computer time lately because as soon as the craziness ended last week, Tyler was off for four days. And even though we have two computers, the kids need the downstairs one for school.
Our weather has been heavenly. Sunny skies, warmer temperatures (of course today is cloudy). It’s just a glimpse of summer that we pacific northwesterners needed after a very rainy winter. I was reading in my Bible and the phrase, “children of promise” caught my eye. That kind of has to be your mantra in this part of the country. Yes, winters are gray and rainy, but the promise of summer is what keeps you going. At least it is for me. Spring isn’t too bad, either.

It also helps that the powers the be built a very nice park practically next to our house. I let the kids ride their bikes over there and play. It wears them out – I think that’s why they’re still asleep.

I also won a book! I found that out this morning when I logged on to Multiply. I read a blog by Vicki Courtney. Once in awhile she’ll have book drawings for the people who leave comments on her blog. I just won her latest book, “Logged In and Tuned Out.” I also have a few of her other books, or Amber does. Amber has “between,” I have “Your Girl,” and a couple others that escape me at the moment. Last spring Amber and I went to a Virtuous Reality conference for pre-teens and their moms. It was amazing. I heard Vicki speak once in Alaska and I was and instant fan of hers. She has made me such a better mom. Her next book, “Five Conversations You Must Have With Your Daughter” will be out in the not too distant future and I’ll be the first in line to buy it.

And since we’re on my favorite subject, books, do you guys know Dr.James Dobson is right now writing “Bringing Up Girls?” I’m going weak in the knees just thinking about it. I have read “Bringing Up Boys” twice and it’s a Godsend. And all homeschoolers love that book because he says if he and his wife had it to do over again, they’d homeschool. But the practical advice really helped me somewhat figure out my son – at least at the stage he’s at now. Another one of his books I can’t recommend highly enough is “The Strong Willed Child.” I don’t want to know where Austin (or myself) would be right now without that book.

That’s about it from here. Time to wake Frick and Frack.

Leave a Reply

