The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Oh the things I wanted to accomplish today

on August 3, 2008

4/5/08

Most of them were blog related and, well, went by the wayside. I was going to do the challenge on Becca’s site, do Picture Perfect and the Friday Five. Hmmmm . . . . didn’t do the challenge because I forgot. Didn’t do Picture Perfect because the picture I was going to use is on the upstairs computer and I didn’t spend anytime on that one today. And the Friday Five – well, I just decided not to do it for the sake of my emotional health – lol. It was about what five things you would change (personally, in your community, etc.) if you could. Two of the things I would change would put me into a stage of fury so I decided it was better to let that sleeping dog lie.

I DID manage to drag the children to Target today. My mom told me they were having a sale on kid’s clothes and she did not lie! $3 tank tops for Amber! And the clearance racks were to die for! She is pretty much set for summer. She is so much fun to shop with. Her brother – well, not so much. I did manage to force him to try on three pairs of shorts. Then it was off to the toy section. Man is it nice that he’s 12 and I can just let him go. With him out of the way, what were Amber and I to do??? Try on more clothes! I got a couple of pairs of capris. They’ll be nice for my trip to Anchorage in a little less than three weeks.

And I started sewing a dress for Amber. It’s the summer dress type with the smocking on the top? You can get it already made on the bolt so all you have to do is sew it up the side and hem it. She’s so tall she had to buy the adult sized fabric. But she got the cutest pink and green paisley print – it made me think of Becca and Isabelle! I didn’t get it hemmed tonight – I was too tired. She is DYING to wear it to church tomorrow night – complete with t-shirt underneath. I told her no spaghetti straps in church. I should be able to finish it tomorrow.

I also watched “Enchanted” for the second time in as many days. I. LOVE. THAT. MOVIE! It is movie perfection! Amber and I watched it last night and Tyler watched it with us tonight. He liked it, too. When Prince Edward loudly proclaims to Giselle, “We will marry in the morning,” I thought Tyler was going to bust a gut. And the Carrie Underwood song at the end, “Ever, Ever After” brings a tear!

Okay, now for your moment of Cheri for the day. Kind of like John Stewart’s “moment of Zen” on The Daily Show . . . . . . . I went walking today. It was a little breezy, but I need to start exercising again. I had a baseball hat on and my hair kind of to where the hat wouldn’t fly off. The hat did manage to dance around on my head a bit, so I reached up and whacked it back on my head. There was only one problem. The hand that whacked my head also happened to be holding a two pound hand weight. Guess what hit my heat first. Yep, NOT my hand. OWIE!! Now I have a nice goose egg to remind me never to grab for my head again when I’m walking.

Leave a Reply

