The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Only six minutes left . . . . .

on August 3, 2008

2/3/08

. . . . to get in my blog entry from my idea book. This entry describes the roots of our “Groundhog Day.” It began in Europe as Candlemas Day. The Europeans would search for hedgehogs on this day. I have no idea if they tried to predict the arrival of spring with finding one. When German settlers came to New England, there were no hedgehogs so they substituted groundhogs.

The question she poses today is how can we tell when spring is almost here? Well, since I live in the Pacific Northwest the best indicator of spring is the non-stop, torrential rains that pretty much take up all of March. In March of 2006 it rained 27 straight days. It did break here and there, but everyday had recorded rain. It was ugly. It was also the first time I was a bit worried that we live on a hill. There were many houses having foundation problems that spring. Not to mention one that fell in the Columbia river!

Aside from the rain – last spring was actually very nice and dry – the usual signs for me are the tulips, daffodils and rhododendrons. The western rhododendron is the state flower of Washington and brotha’ do we represent! I myself have six rhododendrons, all different colors. Okay, maybe I have two pink, but the rest are all different. I have one that’s coral that is a showstopper. Rhodys, as they’re affectionately known, cover my part of the country and to me are the biggest sign that spring has come to start warming us up.

Leave a Reply

