The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Parenting 101

on August 3, 2008

1/28/08

Well, we talked to each kid tonight (separately of course – they would have died to talk about this in front of each other) about Jamie Lynn Spears. We told them that she made some very bad decisions and why we feel that way. We also stressed that no one is ready to become a parent at 16, the one that will ultimately suffer is the innocent child, and it all could have been very easily avoided.

Okay, now to a more fun part of my blog from my journalling idea book. Today is the 22nd anniversary of the explosion of the space shuttle Challenger. That would have made it 1986 and I was a junior in high school. I was sitting in my Spanish class when they made the announcement over the intercom system. We just happened to have a t.v. in our classroom that day (just like when Ronald Regan was shot) so we watched the news coverage. It was very sad and I remember being shocked at one boy in particular at how crass he was toward the whole incident. I couldn’t stand to even look at him for the rest of my high school career.

Here’s the question Ms. Dahlstrom poses: “Do you think it’s important for people to travel into space? Have you ever thought about being a part of the space program?”

In answer to her first question, no, I don’t think it’s important for people to travel into space. I would much more prefer to see that money spent to balance our nation’s budget. I may be wrong, but I heard this so called tax refund/economic stimulus deal-io (have no clue what the real name is) we’re all supposed to be getting to stimulate the economy is in fact being used from money borrowed from foreign markets. I was sick to my stomach when I heard that. All I could think was, “Keep your flippin’ money!!!” This country is so out of whack with its spending and debt it’s ridiculous. And no, I don’t think one political party is the answer to all our problems.

Okay, enough of that rant! Didn’t mean to go down that trail. Anyhoo, the obvious answer to her second question about if I’ve ever considered being a part of the space program would be no. The only science that ever even got close to getting me interested was human science. I don’t really even care that much about animal science. I know there must be more technical names – I feel like such a redneck. Pretty soon I’ll be saying things like, “I usta could do the hula hoop.” Please reach out and help me if I ever get to that point!

Leave a Reply

