The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Reflections on a gracious and glorious God

on August 3, 2008

6/3/08

Yes, this is my second blog of the day. But we got some very good news a couple of hours ago. I can’t believe I could wait this long to blog about it, but hey, a girl should shower before 2 p.m., don’t ya think? Anyway, my mom got the results from her PET scan back this morning. They were looking to see if the lesions on her ovary and liver are cancerous. THEY ARE NOT!!! At this point, this is truly the best news we could have gotten. They also thought she had cancer in some lymphnodes surrounding her heart, now they say the tests are inconclusive. So they’re treating her as if they do contain cancer. Her oncologist told her this was all very, very good news! She stared chemo a couple of hours ago. I think this was to be a very long session, followed up by two short sessions on Wednesday and Thursday.

I think the longer all the testing drug on and the more chemo was pushed back has been very hard on my mom. It’s been hard on me, too, if the truth be told. This last week has been very difficult for me. The longer things have drug on and with no real answers, or answers yet to be determined, have taken their toll. And, as usual, all of this has come about during my pms week. I’m seriously thinking of going to my doctor and seeing what can be done about my pms. In the past, she’s suggested birth control. I’ve always been adamantly opposed to that because I have no need for it. But I was talking with my neighbor (we see the same doc) and she’s in the same boat as me. She said the bc has helped her so much she really doesn’t have pms anymore. Huh? What you talkin’ ’bout, Willis?? Sign me up.

But, despite all the mayhem raging inside, God has been more glorious in my life than ever before. I have reached out to Him and clung to Him so tightly that there’s no chance of Him ever getting rid of me! I have realized how important it is to already be in deep relationship on a daily basis with Him before the disasters strike. Not if they strike, but when they strike. I had a storm of sorts rage in my life last fall. I decided it was time to put my money where my mouth is and start developing my relationship with God to the level I had always dreamed of. To do the things I knew I should be doing. I truly believe that the storm in the fall was just a preparation for the news I would receive in April concerning my mom.

And God has showed me His grace and glory not only in the “unseen” realm, but in the seen as well. I have an amazing church family who truly cares about me. Who have been more supportive than I ever could have imagined. I have close friends who have been there for me – if just a phone call or dragging me out to coffee – lol. I have e-mail friends who keep up with me. And I have you guys, my beloved online friends. I have officially taken “online” off the front of your job description. And my husband . . . . . . don’t even get me started. I can’t think about how wonderful he’s been without sobbing. And I know this situation hurts him, too. Not just because he sees what I’m going through, but because he has his own pain due to the love he feels for my mom. Like I said – don’t get me started.

When all of this started with my mom, I was confident God gave me Psalm 27:13-14: “I am certain that I will see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be courageous and let your heart be strong. Wait for the Lord.” But I’ll admit, I was starting to falter. I have a bookmark to that page in my Bible so I at least remember everyday of God’s promise. But I had been starting to waver. Starting to think, “Did He really lead me there or was it just my over-active imagination?” Today He confirmed that it is my verse for this ordeal. He spoke to my heart and said, “I told you those verses were for you. See, I’m keeping my part of the bargain.” While I don’t trust those verses for a supernatural healing, I do believe God wants me to believe things might not be as bad as I am capable of imagining. And today’s news was proof of that!

Leave a Reply

