The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

There he goes again . . . .

on August 3, 2008

2/15/08

. . . earning another karate belt. Austin had his rank test tonight and earned his yellow belt. I’m so proud of him. He works so hard and is more dedicated to this than any other thing in his life.

Last month Austin received an award from his sensei. Sensei only gives out one award a year to one student – and Austin got it. It’s called the “Shinobi Award.” It recognizes the student who not only exhibits exemplary skills, but also exhibits excellence of character. I almost cried when he got that one. Tonight at the test, Sensei was calling on Austin to help him do everything – even help the boys who were testing for belts higher than Austin’s.

To say Austin has been a bit of a challenge to raise is an understatement. It has taken every ounce of everything I have to survive my son. And not only survive, but to actually try to mold and teach him along the way. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve cried out to God and said, “You’re going to have to fill in the gaps. There is no WAY I can be everything this child demands of me.” And He’s been faithful. I am nowhere near perfect, but He is. And He’s done a great job with my son.

Amber is in love with the new bike she got for her birthday. She was upset Austin wouldn’t ride his bike with her today. He told her, “I have to save all of my energy for the rank test.” I have to admit, he was probably right. But she and I took a ride yesterday and that was a lot of fun. Austin promised he’ll ride with her on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

