The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Traditioooooooooooooon, Tradition!

on August 3, 2008

2/2/08

You simply must sing my title like the song from “Fiddler on the Roof.” From my book, today is Setsubun (the Bean-Throwing Festival) in Japan. It celebrates the end of winter and the beginning of spring (still looks like winter around here). It has its roots in ancient Japan, but now celebrities throw beans out to the waiting masses at shrines and temples. Any bean that’s caught is considered good luck for the catcher. It makes me wonder, an ancient tradition that now involves celebrities. Sounds just like America to me!

The question says to imagine you have a Japanese exchange student living in your home. What local or national traditions would you want to make sure they were able to experience while they were here. I would want them to experience Easter. The wonder and beauty of spring and the wonder and beauty of Jesus. Easter is very special to me as it’s a reminder of all my Savior has done to redeem me and reconcile humanity to God. I would try to explain what the day means to Christians around the world and what it personally means to me.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We went to my parents house to watch the Super Bowl. Our church has a gigantic Super Bowl party every year at a local high school. There’s so much to do there that it’s exhausting. Last year we played bingo the whole time and the kids were dying to do that again. So I devised a plan. I told them I could get a bingo game, buy prizes from the Dollar Store and we’d have a much better time. It went over great! My mom and I both bought prizes from the Dollar Store. It was SO. MUCH. FUN! The best gift I got was for Tyler. It was a big bottle of Dad’s root beer and it said, “Big Daddy Size.” Most of the gifts, okay all of them, were just silly. But it was so much better than the shindig at church. My mom and I have decided to make “Dollar Store Bingo” a yearly tradition.

We got it over with before the game came on. And then we missed the kick off because my dad somehow turned the t.v. off and it wouldn’t come back on. He literally turned it off seconds before the kick off. I don’t know how long it was off. They have satellite and a high def t.v. and things just don’t work as quickly with that set up. I was trying to make everyone feel better and said, “Oh, we won’t miss anything.” Well, we did. Tyler laughed so hard at the whole situation that I think I have permanent hearing loss in my left ear. Things are never dull at my parent’s house.

Leave a Reply

