The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Uneventful Mother’s Day

on August 3, 2008

5/12/08

And that’s just how I like it after the extremely eventful past couple of weeks we’ve had around here. Since I had already gotten my Mother’s Day gift last week and Tyler was working today, I knew there would be no festivities upon my rising. So I gave myself a gift and did one of my most favorite things in the world Saturday night. I stayed up late. And by late I mean 3:00 a.m. I would have stayed up even later, but I ran out of things to do . And since I put my earplugs in when I went to bed, I slept until 11:00 a.m. Man do I love having older kids.

When I came downstairs the kids had written “Happy Mother’s Day” on our portable white board. It was right in the middle of the kitchen so I wouldn’t miss it. Then there was the argument about who actually did all the work. Amber happily proclaimed she did all the work making the message. She so proclaimed it by writing the fact on the whiteboard. That enraged her brother so he erased, “I did all the work,” and replaced it with, “I did all the werk.” I wanted to bop him over the head for his spelling, but it cracked me up too much.

We went over to my parents house this afternoon and that was nice. Mom is doing so good. She said she feels like she gets stronger everyday since the surgery. We went on a walk, sat outside and had a nice long talk in her bedroom. The kids were able to help out a little around the house – Austin mowed their yard (really a patch of grass) and Amber dusted. Tyler knew what time we were going to be there and stopped by, too. He works on the side of town my parents live on. I think the neighbors are finally getting used to seeing a cop car in front of my parent’s house. For over a year, Tyler’s car caused quite the scene in the 55+ mobile home park – lol!

Also today I was able to reconnect with one of my mom’s dearest friends in Alaska she had kind of lost touch with since she moved here. I am so happy I “found” her because that will give her and Mom a chance to spend some internet time together. They’re good for each other.

That’s about it – I’ve been fighting a terrible headache all day and I think I’m finally going to lay down and try to get it to leave. The kids are watching reruns of “John & Kate Plus Eight.” As much as I love that show, I really can’t take all the 3 year old screaming at the moment. On a side note, I made the most incredible (if I do say so myself) pecan crusted salmon fillets for dinner. Yummo

Leave a Reply

