The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Vandalism Hits Home

on August 3, 2008

1/13/08

Yep, our house and van got vandalized last night. I didn’t even know anything had happened. Tyler drives the van (which is always parked in our driveway) and saw it this morning when he got up to go to work. Someone had put human excrement on the windshield. I asked him tonight if he was sure it was human and not dog. He said he’d been doing his job long enough that he knew the difference.

And on our garage door was written in big, black marker “Faggets” (their mother must be so proud of their spelling abilities) and “F*** the 5-0.” For those of you, like me, who don’t know what “5-0” means, it’s a slang for police – like Hawaii 5-0. So we were targeted because of my husband’s job. I guess it wouldn’t be so unsettling if I thought it was just random. Tyler doesn’t drive his patrol car home, but he did for a week last February. So either someone picked up on that or it was our neighborhood 15 year old idiot. He and my son had a bad falling out last January and I haven’t allowed Austin to do anything with him this whole year. His mom says he has since fallen in with a horrible group of friends. It very well could have been his friends and he wasn’t in on it. Who knows – it could also be random.

Yep, 10 1/2 years at this job and we’ve never had anything like this happen before. When we lived in Alaska, Tyler drove his patrol car home every night. The only thing that happened up there was we got egged one night. But so did half our street so it didn’t feel personal.
Neither the kids nor I saw the writing on the garage door when we left today to go to my parents. It wasn’t huge, and it was off to one side. And when we came home tonight it was dark. I am SO glad they didn’t see it. I guess right now I’m in a bit of sheltering mode. For those of you who have been my blog friends for a while you’ll remember Tyler was shot at on the job this past summer. Tuesday they’re having a commendation ceremony for all the officers involved. At the moment my kids have enough to deal with being reminded that their dad was shot at and has a risky job in general. I just don’t feel like filling them in on tonight. They were busy watching t.v. and didn’t even know we had been out cleaning up.

So what was a really great and relaxing day at my parents ended on a sour note. I’m not worried or all that upset. I guess the spelling error made me think it was just kids. If it were something grotesque or really weird, I might be pretty freaked out. However, I’m not leaving the kids home alone for the time being. And Tyler is off Monday – Saturday this week so it will be nice having him home. And with that, I think I’m going to turn in early.

Leave a Reply

