The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Writing Down the Days

on August 3, 2008

1/28/08

We have a book with the above title. It has entries for everyday of the year. Some historical, some about holidays on the day, whatever. At the end of the daily entry the author asks you to write about related questions she has posed. It was written for middle schoolers as a way to get them thinking about something to write. I don’t remember how I found out about it, but we use it at the dinner table. Sometimes the topic is too advanced for the kids (I don’t really want to discuss Hitler at dinner) and some are rather simple. I am going to start using her entries and questions for daily blogs. I will be very careful not to infringe on any copyright laws so I won’t be quoting her verbatim. Oh, the author’s name is Lorraine M. Dahlstrom, M.A.

January 27 is the birthday of Mairead Corrigan. She helped found the Peace People in 1976 in Northern Ireland. The organization and therefore the members believe everyone has a part to play in building a peaceful and fair society. She and fellow co-founder Betty Williams, won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1977.

Dahlstrom writes, “Mairead Corrigan once wrote, ‘We can rejoice and celebrate today because we are living in a miraculous time. Everything is changing and everything is possible.’ What things do you have to rejoice and celebrate about?”

Well, what don’t I have to rejoice and celebrate about? I have a wonderful, healthy family. Despite the mistakes Tyler and I have made in the past our kids seem to be turning out better than “just fine.” I have a beautiful house, old cars that run wonderfully, food to eat everyday. We have extra money to do things with the kids. So really, I have a lot to rejoice about.

And as far as everything changing, I have to say I’m a big fan of technology. I obviously love the internet! I love MP3 players. I love listening to 80’s hits on my computer on iTunes. I know all this technology and progress comes with a downside, but I know it can be used for good, too.
I had a roommate once who longed to live when Laura Ingalls did. She just thought things would be so much better in her life. I had been reading Ecclesiates and to paraphrase both Solomon and Billy Joel, “The good old days weren’t always so good.” In fact, Solomon takes it a step further and tells us NOT to long for the days of old.

Yes, there are many times I wish we didn’t live in the society we do. My daughter had no clue Jamie Lynn Spears was pregnant – until today when our neighbor exclaimed, “I can’t believe she’s still doing the show when she’s pregnant.” (My kids have never been allowed to watch Zoey 101, there was a commercial on t.v.) Amber didn’t say anything and Austin said, “Huh?” I said we’d talk about it later. Maybe Amber did know. I don’t know. It’s good fodder for meaningful conversation, but I was really hoping to shield the kids from this one. I guess as I get older I’m just getting softer. And as I’ve said before, we’ve been through so much with Tyler’s job lately that I’m in the sheltering frame of mind.

They are now watching “White Fang” with Tyler and I took a bath. Maybe the conversation can wait until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

