The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Identity Crisis

on August 4, 2008

6/24/08

Imagine being told you’re a girl all your life and then you find out you’re really a boy. That’s what happened to two of the foster kitties last night – lol. I found out two of them are boys. I’m really not an expert in the whole “figuring out” aspect of kittens. I thought I had looked down there pretty well when we got them. And now I think I just didn’t know what I was looking for. Well, the gray kitty left me no room for guessing last night. Amber and I were so shocked that we had to inspect them all. Sure enough, my little Gwennie is a boy. Her new name is George. And the gray kitty’s new name is Trooper.

In other happenings last night, I signed Amber up to have her own e-mail. *sigh* She’s growing up so much. She was in 7th heaven sending e-mails to relatives and one friend. All she could ask me over and over was if and when everyone was going to reply. I had to explain to her that not everyone reads their e-mails every day and sometimes when people do read them they don’t have time to respond right away. Of course since e-mail is her new obsession, she just didn’t understand what I was telling her. So far my parents have answered her back and that made her very happy.

Austin is busy at Club Mid at church. It’s a 3 week long day camp of sorts for the middle schoolers. Yesterday I was soooooooo tired when I took him. I looked awful – no make-up, hair doing the crazy things only unwashed curly hair can do, and I wasn’t 100% sure there wasn’t sleep in my eyes or dried up slobber on my face. I don’t do mornings very well. In my stupor, I thought I probably wouldn’t see anyone I know. WHAT? Now it all seems so laughable. Of course I saw half the church – the half that I know. And they all had to come up and talk to me, etc. I try not to be too vain (obviously or I would have been up at the crack of dawn preparing myself), but yesterday’s humiliation was almost too much.

Okay, time to do an unshowered Costco run. Oh I know I’ll see someone there I know, but at least I’ve done the once over and I have neither sleep in my eyes nor dried spit on my face. Score!

Leave a Reply

