The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The best birthday gift ever

on August 5, 2008

I’m not into self-promotion and this blog isn’t about that. But today is my 39th birthday (did I say that out loud? 39?? Yikes.) and I got the BEST present I have ever been given next to my salvation.

My mom had a meeting with her oncologist today to discuss the results of her latest CT scan. He wanted to see what affect the chemotherapy is having on the tumor on her lung. I was mistaken and thought she had cancer throughout her lung – it’s just a tumor. The results from the scan could not have been better. What started out as a 3 cm (1.18 inch) tumor is now a 1.2 cm (.47 inch) tumor. She began her third round of chemo today and in 3 weeks will have another CT scan to see how to proceed. Her doctor said an over 50% decrease is amazing. And the fact that she’s tolerating the treatments so well only encourages him more.

At the beginning of my mom’s whole cancer journey, God led me to a very specific Bible passage. I know I’ve shared it before, but indulge me to share again. Psalm 27:13-14: “I am certain that I will see the LORD’s goodness in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD; be courageous and let your heart be strong. Wait for the LORD.” The storms in my life have raged over the last three months like never before. This is easily the most painful experience of my life. But no matter what was going on, I would hear the sweet Spirit of God whispering those verses over my heart. I clung to them with everything I had. I doubted I would see any goodness other than His mercy to keep me from losing my mind.

But as I daily stayed in His Word, the joy came bubbling back here and there. His comfort never left me, nor did a strange peace. Even when I was inwardly screaming at Him and wishing it was all a bad dream, He was still my Prince Of Peace.

I have no idea what tomorrow holds. None of us do. But I do know that I have seen His goodness as I have waited on Him. I will never be the same. I’ll close with lyrics from my all time favorite band, Third Day.

Mountain of God

Thought that I was all alone
Broken and afraid
But You were there with me
Yes, You were there with me

And I didn’t even know
That I had lost my way
But You were there with me
Yes, You were there with me

‘Til You opened up my eyes
I never knew
That I couldn’t ever make it
Without You

Even though the journey’s long
And I know the road is hard
Well, the One who’s gone before me
He will help me carry on
After all that I’ve been through
Now I realize the truth
That I must go through the valley
To stand upon the mountain of God

As I travel on the road
That You have led me down
You are here with me
Yes, You are here with me
I have need for nothing more
Oh, now that I have found
That You are here with me
Yes, You are here with me

I confess from time to time
I lose my way
But You are always there
To bring me back again

Sometimes I think of where it is I’ve come from
And the things I’ve left behind
But of all I’ve had, what I possessed
Nothing can quite compare
With what’s in front of me

I thought that I was all alone
Broken and afraid
But, You are here with me
Yes, You are here with me.

Leave a Reply

