The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

‘Fro Me To You

on August 14, 2008

I really, really struggled with the picture for this week. Why? Well, you’ll see in a minute. But I decided to be brave and take a bit of advice from Margaret Mason’s ground breaking work, “No One Cares What You Had For Lunch: 100 Ideas for Your Blog.” She asserts in there somewhere that if something about you makes you cringe, the better it is for your blog. Well, this picture doesn’t make me cringe so much as it makes me almost sick to my stomach.
It was the spring of 1992 and I was head over heels in love and happily engaged to Tyler. One of his relatives wanted a picture of us, so this was the best we could do. Actually, in another couple pictures my eyes are open, but none of them come close to being as bad as this one. So without further ado . . . . . .

There are two major issues here. The first I’ll tackle is the hair. Okay, it was 1992, not 1962! I look like something straight out of my mother’s high school yearbook. Beehive, anyone? And the “v” my bangs make? I really am clueless as to why I looked like this. I have other pictures of me from this time period and my hair isn’t so big. Maybe I was just wanting to relive my 80’s hair for an evening – I don’t know. And the overall shape does NOTHING for my face. In fact, the hair/face combo makes me look like a figure 8.

And the second issue is the eyebrows. I don’t remember them being this bad, but I guess they were. Does anyone now see why waxing is NOT an option for me? I remember meeting one of Tyler’s business acquaintances right after we stared dating. The first words out of her mouth were, “You need someone to wax your eyebrows.” I was speechless. Her mother-in-law proceeded to call her the “b” word. Lots of dysfunction in that family . . . . but I digress. However, some 16 years later I realize she had a point.

So there you have it. And that’s all I have to say. Because I still am speechless over the eyebrows. Or whatever the heck those things are that crawled up on my face and died.


Leave a Reply

