The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Got ‘er Done

on August 24, 2008

Rocks in My Dryer posted an almost poetic blog about her son and his recent accomplishment. It should seriously be nominated for some sort of award. It’s so touching and right on the mark. I read it right before we left to watch our son test for his next karate belt. I really could plagiarize her blog from here to next week as she so keenly wrote about emotions I knew I’d be feeling. Thankfully, I’ve seen Austin test enough times that I don’t get too choked up.

He did fantastically last night. He is extremely accurate and fast when he spars. It’s a tad unnerving, but his dojo has a very strict contact policy so I don’t worry *too* much when they spar. Here are a few pictures from last night:

He pretty much nailed the entire exam. He struggles a bit in vocabulary, but his sensei told him it’s a very small part of the overall test. I’m sure he doesn’t study as much as he should armed with that knowledge. Despite that, he passed and was one very happy boy after getting his green belt.

It is strange to watch him excel at something I have absolutely nothing to do with. I can’t give him advice . . . . heck, I don’t even know WHAT he’s doing when I watch him! I guess I do have something to do with it. I make sure he gets there on time, I write the checks to pay for the classes, I keep his gi (uniform) clean, and I spend my anniversary night at the gym watching him get his green belt. There was nowhere else I would have wanted to be.

Before we left for the gym, there was a right of passage of sorts that happened in our kitchen. Austin knocked Tyler on his literal butt. They were messing around and Austin was warding him off and sent him to the ground. I asked Tyler what Austin did to make him fall like that and he said, “I don’t know . . . . it was just really fast.” We looked like a sitcom. Austin did something, Tyler hit the ground, thus hitting Amber in the stomach with her head. Which pushed her into me, who was doing the dishes, and I nearly fell face first in the sink. I think Austin was quite pleased with the chain reaction!


Leave a Reply

