The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Can I get a S-C-R-E-A-M???

on August 29, 2008

My dad calls me this morning at 8:30 a.m. I was happily oblivious to the world and he knew that – LOL. He then tells me McCain has chosen his running mate. Okay . . . . I kinda thought he was losing his marbles to call me about that. Then he tells me who it is . . . . . SARAH PALIN !!!! No one probably knows her, but I do. She’s the governor of Alaska. And she happens to be from the same 9,000 person town that I’m from and that Obama’s campaign is making fun of now.

Un-be-liev-uh-bull. Even more crazy? Her younger sister, Molly, went to high school with me. Then we worked at now defunct MarkAir airlines together. THEN she was my kid’s dental hygienist until we left Alaska. Wild my friends, truly wild. OH! And when my mother-in-law worked for the city of Wasilla, Sarah was the mayor and was Betty’s boss. Betty even has her autograph on a goodbye gift. And my dad was friends with Sarah’s in-laws, Jim and Faye Palin.
Okay, she’s going to walk out with McCain in Ohio in a few. Now they’re talking about how she was Miss Teen Wasilla and her dad took her moose hunting as a kid.

I’m kind of tearing up. Never in a million years would I think that anything could put Alaska in the national spotlight . . . . . unless it was oil. It will be sweet for me to watch the media chronicle a life that was very similar to mine (until she became mayor . . . . ). Oh yeah, and tear her apart from limb to limb. I won’t enjoy that.

You can bet for the very first time in my life I’ll be watching the republican convention and the vice presidential debates. I might even turn it into a viewing party!!! I’ll be praying for her, too. I wouldn’t want to go up against a seasoned politician like Biden. Now they’re saying Palin is the only one out of Obama, Biden, McCain that has actually run a government. Hee hee . . . .

Leave a Reply

