The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Labor Day

on September 1, 2008

Alrighty, inspired by We Are THAT Family and Rocks in My Dryer, here’s a little meme about the two Labor Days I’ll never forget.

How long were your labors?

Kid #1 – 1 hour maybe.
Kid #2 – Scheduled c-section.

How did you know you were in labor?

Kid #1 – Induced on due date because he was measuring big.
Kid #2 – Scheduled c-seciton
*My body had no problem getting pregnant. It had a huge problem actually letting go of the child. I never had false labor, Braxton-Hicks, nothing. I didn’t even dilate over the circumfrence of a #2 pencil – my ob’s exact words.

Where did you deliver?

Kid #1 – Alaska Regional Hospital (I think it has a new name now)
Kid #2 – Providence Alaska

Drugs?

Of course – I am the world’s biggest pain wimp. When I walked up to the nurse’s station to get induced with #1 I informed them my doctor said I could have an epidural whenever I wanted it. I told them I wanted it ASAP. They laughed and thought I was funny. I wasn’t trying to be funny, I was dead serious. I got my epidural very quickly. I think I felt a total of three contractions.

C-section?

Kid #1- After they broke my water, he did in-utero acrobatics. He ended up head up, with one foot over his head and one down the birth canal. I had to have a c-section. He was 9′ 4″ and my ob said I never would have been able to deliver a head as big as his. It was so big that the caps they gave him in the nursery popped off his newborn head. Nothing wrong with him, just a big head.
Kid #2- After my body refused to let go of this one, too, a c-section was scheduled. She was 9′ 15″ and I praised GOD for c-sections.

Who delivered?

Same doctor for both kids. She was amazing, and I’m sure she still is. Her philosophy on epidurals vs. natural childbirth were as follows: The only reason NOT to have an epidural is if you’re delivering in a third world country or in the backseat of your car. She was my ob/gyn from 1992 until we left Alaska in 2004.


Leave a Reply

