The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaack – sorta

on October 18, 2008

I’m sitting in the Orlando airport at the unthinkable hour of 7:45 a.m. – making it 4:45 at home. I’m about to fly clear across the country on two flights, thus returning from a two week vacation in Florida. It has been wonderful. Not without family drama and one “event” that will not only be a later blog, but a contest. I think only one of you, my sister in law, knows what happened, so no commenting on it! I’ll be enticing you all to guess the event with my first blog giveaway. But that’ll come later in the week.

I’m exhausted, but relaxed. And a bit irritated. People are so pushy and rude – especially in the security line. It’s not my fault Mr. and Mrs. Unhappy were running late. Then I saw them arguing in the Starbucks line and was satisfied. They weren’t just unhappy with my family, they were unhappy with life in general. That’ll be a real fun trip back home.

It’s a good thing the Cho family (my new nickname for us) is a rather laid back group. If not, we would have HAD IT at Disney. I’ve never seen more pushy, get-me-to-the-front-of-the-line-even-if-it-is-only-one-person-closer people in my life. So I’m glad to be going back to the much more laid back northwest. I realize Disney isn’t exactly grounds for indicting an entire region of the country, so I don’t blame Florida. Most of the Floridians I ran into were very nice. I can’t say enough wonderful things about where we stayed, for example.

And spending two weeks with my son’s almost 13 year attitude was, well, a bit much. The thing is, he’s a lot like I was at that age. So instead of losing it, I’m going to just keep a bit of distance for a day or two once we get home.

So that’s all. We should be boarding soon. I’ve got plenty of pictures to upload, PLENTY of stories to tell (I kept a journal while we were there – it’s the first time I’ve done a vacation journal and I’ll do it from now on), and one contest coming up.

Leave a Reply

