The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

And the winner is . . . . .

on October 23, 2008

. . . . Betty R! Yes, there really is a winner!! Well, she’s not technically correct, but close enough. And I originally thought what she thought until the firefighter, yes the firefighter, told us otherwise.

We were enjoying a lovely day at Cocoa Beach and about 1 1/2 hours into it, I was standing about knee deep in the water and suddenly felt the pain of my life. Oh. My. Lord. It literally felt like something was implanted into my leg. At first, all we could see was the little squiggly line and not the other three. As I was kind of freaking out (that being an understatement) and managing not to completely lose my mind (that also being an understatement) we decided I must’ve been stung by a jelly fish.

There was no one else on the beach and we had no clue what to do. So Tyler ended up calling 911. He told them it wasn’t an emergency, but we didn’t know what to do. It was really, really windy so the poor dispatcher was having an awful time trying to hear him. He finally asked Tyler, “Did you say your wife swallowed a jellybean?”

Once Tyler got the point across, let’s just say things went overboard. He was up by the street and all of the sudden I saw a lifeguard come flying down the beach on a four-wheeler. So being the self-conscious person I am, I just sat there. He was looking all around, then listened to his earpiece, turned and left. But Tyler was still up by the road that I thankfully couldn’t see, because they nearly sent out the entire calvary.

When the fire truck pulled up, Tyler told him what had happened. It appears I was actually stung by a man ‘o war, not a jellyfish. He said unless there were multiple and/or very large stings, they weren’t allowed to treat them anymore. Which I agree with – it would just be a waste of their time. He also told Tyler that there was a huge rip tide going on (which we actually knew about and wouldn’t let the kids get in over their knees) and the rip tide churns them up and tosses them all around because they have no way to propel themselves underwater. It also tears them up, so there can be thousands of little man o’ war parts floationg around waiting to sting an unsuspecting family from the northwest.

After we got in the car, which was pretty much right away, I was so thankful. Amber had been laying down in the knee deep water and she could have gotten it pretty bad.

We stopped at Walgreens to get Benadryl and they actually had a spray for jellyfish. I don’t remember too much of the drive home.

Which leads me to the pain. Oh. My. (Insert expletive here; more than one if it makes you feel better). It was like the worst burn of my life, only worse. I went to my parents house after we got back and they were watching “Beach Patrol.” A girl got stung by a man ‘o war and the lifeguard told her it would only hurt for about 45 minutes. Talk about getting someone’s hopes up. Mine hurt for over 12 hours. It woke me up once in the night, but the next morning it didn’t hurt anymore.

But all in all, I have to remember that it wouldn’t really be a ‘Cho (my new nickname for the fam) family vacation without a little drama. Drama follows us around like our shadows. And the stings didn’t kill me so I guess all’s well that ends well!!!

Leave a Reply

