The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

I got boo-ed!

on October 27, 2008

Oh yes I did! I did the happy dance when I came home from Bible study and saw it on the counter. What is “boo-ing” you might ask. And why does it make me so happy? Okay, boo-ing is when you get a cute little package on your doorstep in the darkness of night around Halloween. It comes with goodies and two pieces of paper. One is a cute goblin with the words “BOO” printed on it and the other are your instructions. Here’s what they say:

Since this is the time for goblins and bats
Halloween spirits and ghosts and cats
Weird happenings and witches brew
These are the things I wish for you

May the only spirit you chance to meet
Be the spirit of love and warm friends sweet
May the only goblin that comes your way
Be the neighborhood phantom, whom you’ll want to give away

So by tomorrow, pick three friends sweet
And give them all a Halloween treat
You only have one day so hurry!!!
Leave that treat on the doorstep then flee in a hurry

Now these are the things you need to do:
1. Make three copies of this letter and a copy of phantom ghost for each
2. Place the phantom poster on your door until Halloween. This will ward off the phantom ghost from returning to haunt you and yours.
3. Take your letter, phantom and treat and deliver them to homes that do not have a phantom poster.


Last year when the kids went trick-or-treating, I saw all these “boo” signs in windows of houses the next street over. When I finally went to the door with the kids because I couldn’t stand not knowing what they were any longer, I had it explained to me. At that moment I proceeded to burn hot with envy. OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, I wanted to be boo-ed so. bad. But alas, Halloween was over and it was too late. I swore up and down that I was going to start the tradition on my street this year.

Of course I forgot. I don’t think it’s crossed my mind once since I was so vexed last Halloween. I was shocked, but so happy when I saw it this evening. Of course, the kids had finished off the candy, but I don’t care. The letter was in pretty bad shape so I retyped it. I think I have an inkling of who did it, so I’m going to drive by their house tomorrow (yes, it’s that far away . . . . . I’m not lazy enough to drive only a few doors down – yet).

So tonight I shall plot whom I will choose to boo. This is just so much fun!!

Leave a Reply

