The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Boo

on October 31, 2008

Doesn’t she look thrilled? I think I had just taken the 67th picture of the night of her and she was getting tired of it. We were at the Fall Carnival at our church on Wednesday night. I will be completely honest. I was ecstatic when I realized that this is the last year we can go. It’s only for ages up to 5th grade. If not, there would be literally hundreds of kids all over the church and, well, it would be ugly.

We took my brother’s kids and they had so much fun together. Austin even willingly posed for a picture at the beginning of the evening.

Austin had been asked to help out in the “Cool Room.” Basically, it has a bunch of fans blowing and they replace all the fluorescent lights with black lights. The kids working in there have yellow highlighters and they draw pictures on the kids going through. They have a few glow in the dark games.Here’s a picture of Austin . . . . as well as my camera would take it with no flash.


He said he wanted to look like a raccoon.

And speaking of Austin, he had a great birthday. He requested peanut butter cake and thanks to the internet, I had just the recipe! Click here if you want to try it. Let me warn you . . . it could cause the sin of gluttony. He also received the coveted cell phone I had convinced him he couldn’t get until he was in high school. I’m still not sure how I feel about a 13 year old having a cell phone. But he’s so busy that it will make my life easier – LOL! How’s that for justification. It’s all about me!

I didn’t know how to wrap it without giving it away. He was soooooooooooo sure he was getting and electric guitar. So what I did was set up a treasure hunt with a bunch of clues. Finally, his last clue was a drawer to open. He was so funny. He didn’t see the cell phone at first and ended up taking the drawer completely out. The phone was in plain sight. Tyler called the phone and once it started ringing he understood.

Here’s a video of it – it was really cute. Amber nearly lost her mind when she realized Austin didn’t have a clue!

I’m not sure what we’re going to do about trick or treating. Austin had already decided he was going to stay home and pass out candy. Now the forecast is calling for rain and Amber said she’s NOT going out in the rain (yeah, I raised her right). I told her we could always turn off all the lights, watch a movie and keep all the candy to ourselves. She liked that.

We have a very busy day on the 31st and I hope to have some pictures from it for you tomorrow! Happy Haunting!!!

Leave a Reply

