The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Why Barack Obama doesn’t phase me

on November 7, 2008

Nope, he doesn’t. Not even a little. I’m sure there are many out there that would tell me I’m a fool, that I need to be concerned, if not even a little worried. So here ya go . . . . this is exactly why President-elect Obama has no hold over me.

For some of you this part of the story will be old information, so feel free to skim 🙂 I went to Anchorage, Alaska on April 24 of this year. Late the morning I arrived I got a phone call from my dad telling me my mom had to have a CAT scan on her brain for some health issues she’d been having recently and they found a tumor. Life as I knew it changed almost 100% at that moment. I will never forget standing in my sister in law’s living room and hearing those words. I was back on a plane home that night having spent literally 24 hours in Alaska.

Let me explain a little about the relationship I have with my mom. She is my #3 best friend. Jesus is first, Tyler is second and Mom is third. There are two places being held in honor of my children as adults (yes, that’s a joke peeps), but for now the top three stand strong. Next to Tyler and the kids, I would rather be with my mom, talk to my mom, go shopping with my mom, you name it with my mom, more than anyone else on the planet.

There is no bad thing in our relationship. We don’t fight and I can even remember the last time I was angry with her. It was in 2003 and involved a motor home and a parking lot and she would NOT listen to me – lol. I have asked Tyler over the years if our relationship is a healthy one. I need someone to keep me in check because I don’t want anything in my life becoming an idol. He has assured me I have things in balance.

The afternoon before my flight left, my sister in law and her mother in law took me to Applebee’s for lunch. I was a wreck and excused myself to the bathroom. As I was washing my hands, I glanced up at the mirror, looked myself dead in the eye and said, “Well, you’re either going to live by the faith you’ve been claiming for over half your life or you’re not.” So I chose faith. During those first few weeks of sheer confusion, fear when another tumor was found on her lung, and of the sand shifting beneath my feet, God led me to a very specific passage and whispered to my heart that it was for me. Psalm 27:13-14: “I am certain that I will see the LORD’s goodness in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD; be courageous and let your heart be strong. Wait for the LORD.”

And as some of you know, He has shown himself absolutely magnificent through my mom’s treatment. In the grand scheme of things, her cancer is the good kind to get. The radiation on her brain has removed all of the tumor and that cancer is considered in remission. Less than half-way through the treatment for her lung tumor, we found out it had shrunken over 50%. She finished up her last chemo treatment last week and we will find out what the tumor has been up to (all the while praying it has completely vacated the premises) at the end of the month.

Since my mom’s diagnosis, I have had to cling to Christ like never before in my life. And He has shown Himself nothing less than glorious. When David talks about Him being our rock, I know what he means. When Paul talks about the peace that passes all understanding, I get it. And when He whispers on my heart, “Cancer doesn’t have the final say, I do,” I listen.

For me, Mom’s cancer has clarified a lot of things in my life. For instance, what’s really important. Also, what exactly truth is. And most importantly, what really matters and Who is actually in control of everything.

I don’t know what the earthly future holds for my mom. We could hear back from the doctor that things have taken a turn for the worst. We could hear a lot of things. But I know this, no matter how the storm rages, I have an anchor that is secure and an eternal future with my mom.

Soooooooo, when it comes to our new president, I guess I’ve just applied the lessons I’ve learned over the last 6 months to our country’s new situation. The bottom line being, God is in control. I could have everything stripped away from me (which I don’t think is going to happen) and yet I’ll have all I need . . . . . . having the knowledge that everyone will one day be called into account for what they’ve done . . . . . . knowing that EVERY arrogant knee will bow to my Savior.

I also don’t think it gives God any glory to let this election steal our joy, contentment, peace and to cause us to worry so much. We as American Christians have it easier than just about anyone since the establishment of the church as told about in Acts 2. And if you don’t believe that, I would ask you to read Voice of the Martyrs once in awhile. Even if Obama stays in office 8 years, we will still have a walk in the park compared to many of our brothers and sisters worldwide. We think we’re being persecuted because someone laughs that we go to church every Sunday.

This blog probably comes off as more of a manifesto, than a blog. But it’s something I’ve had on my heart since Tuesday night and just had to get it out! So let’s all unite as the body of Christ, realize how good we actually do have it and pray for the new president and his administration. And look for the many, many ways our glorious God will show Himself faithful!


Leave a Reply

