The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Hope Now

on November 24, 2008

So the last few days have been an interesting mix of emotion. And I’m sure it’s just going to intensify until Wednesday morning. My mom finds out the results of the CAT scan on her lung then. She finished her last round of chemo a few weeks ago. She had the scan done last week and the waiting has been awful. And WHY anyone scheduled her to find out her results the day before Thanksgiving is beyond me.

Either way, Thanksgiving is going to be very special this year. I honestly think Mom is going to get good news on Wednesday. Things were going so well mid-way through her treatment with an over 50% reduction of the tumor. But you still wonder. Cancer is not a friendly enemy.

And if I can complain for a minute . . . . . when you’re going through agonizing emotional times like this, homeschooling sucks. Seriously sucks. I nearly had a breakdown trying to explain fractions and pronoun antecedents to Austin today. He told me I don’t do a very good job explaining, and I have to agree. But, just like last year when we got the initial news about my mom, we’ll make it through. God was so good to us last year. The kids have to take standardized tests once a year according to the state law (we do the CAT). I just knew that I had ruined them because of what I was going through. We got the results back and they were either average or above average on everything. Both of their scores had gone up from the previous year and Austin scored 100% in two categories. So I should stay off my case!

I’m going to leave you with lyrics from a song that has been very meaningful to me during this time. The song came out around the time of mom’s diagnosis this spring and the lyrics hit me hard. It’s “Hope Now” by Addison Road.

If everything comes down to love
Then just what am I afraid of
When I call out Your name
Something inside awakes in my soul
How quickly I forget I’m Yours

When my life is like a storm
Rising waters all I want is the shore
You say I’ll be ok and
Make it through the rain
You are my shelter from the storm

I’m not my own
I’ve been carried by You
All my life

Everything rides on hope now
Everything rides on faith somehow
When the world has broken me down
Your love sets me free
You’ve become my heart’s desire
I will sing Your praises higher
Cause Your love sets me free

P.S. Don’t worry too much about me. I have an amazing husband, precious friends (both in town and online) and church support like you can’t believe. So even if Mom’s news is the worst of the worst, I’m covered 🙂

I’ll let you all know as soon as I find out.

Leave a Reply

