The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Give Me Your Eyes

on December 11, 2008

There’s a popular Christian song right now titled, “Give Me Your Eyes” by Brandon Heath. I’ll post the lyrics at the end of this blog. It is my daughter’s absolute favorite song at the moment. She eats, breathes and lives that song. She had me buy it on Amazon so she could listen to it over and over and over. I never thought anything about it until today while I was driving down the highway.

When Amber was 3 or 4 she became just as obsessed with God, Jesus and heaven. It was all she could talk about. One night I was tucking her into bed and she asked when she could see God. I told her we won’t see Him until we’re in heaven . . . . you can imagine where the conversation went with a child this age. It went everywhere and nowhere all at the same time. She kept insisting that I answer her why we couldn’t see Him. Finally, I told her it was because we had normal eyes and normal eyes can’t see God.

I was desperately hoping that would pacify her. You know it didn’t. At that point she burst into tears, put her hands over her eyes and started wailing, “Why, why, why do I have normal eyes? I hate my normal eyes.” She was almost inconsolable. I told her it was okay and then she said, “I’m going to run in front of a car so I can die and see God with not normal eyes.” At this point I told her in no uncertain terms was she to do such a thing. I held her why she sobbed, still wishing so badly her eyes weren’t normal.

As I was listening to her now favorite song in the car today, God put a message on my heart. It was as if He said, “She still wants to see Me. She still wants to see like I do.” So I sat in my car and prayed that she would get a glimpse of God – even today. Something that is undeniably only from His hand. Oh that we all could just get a small sight of His glory.

The chorus of “Give Me Your Eyes”

Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken hearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me your heart for the once forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see . . . . .

Leave a Reply

