The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

February 1999 – December 2008 R.I.P.

on December 18, 2008

Well, I finally did it. I finally laid my scrapbooking hobby to rest. It’s hard for even me to believe. Ever since I saw the photo books from places like Shutterfly, Snapfish, etc., I’ve wondered just how good they are. But they are a bit on the pricey side so I never made one.

However, about a month ago, Snapfish announced a deal on Oprah’s show. You got a free 9 x 11 book and only had to pay shipping. I don’t watch Oprah but my dear blog buddy, Becca, put the link up on her site. I immediately took advantage of the offer. (I must clarify, Becca doesn’t watch Oprah either, she got the link on a site she frequents – lol.)

First off, if you already have the pictures uploaded into your computer, the whole process is a snap. It really didn’t take me very long to get the whole book done. I think I put in a total of 43 pictures into the book. I hit “submit” and have been anxiously waiting for the book to arrive.

I think I got an e-mail from Snapfish telling me they were overwhelmed with orders (ummm, it was Oprah . . . . HELLLLLLLOOOOOOOO????) and it would take longer than usual. I didn’t care, all I paid was $7-something for the shipping. I was dying to see the finished quality. After how easy it was to make, I was hoping against all hope the quality would be good.

The book came yesterday and with it came the final and fatal blow to my scrapbook hobby. The book is AWESOME!! I’m glad I learned a few tips in the free book. First, if your picture is a bit on the dark side, it’s going to be more on the dark side in the book. Also, don’t crop and enlarge a whole bunch, the picture turns a little grainy.

But overall, I was thrilled!! I can see only doing about two of these a year and that’s that!! Even though it does seem to cost quite a bit, compared to scrapping it isn’t that much. There’s no supplies to buy, there’s no running out of adhesive half way through the project, there’s no huge stack of supplies just sitting on your craft table gathering dust. And the guilt will be gone!! Awwwwww yeah!

The whole reason I started scrapping was to safely preserve my pictures and to have a creative outlet. The photobooks will accomplish the preserving. As far as a creative outlet . . . . . I have plenty of those. I’ll never quit sewing or knitting and I’m sure I’ll find something else to do. But at the moment, the biggest creative outlet I have is blogging. And it’s FREE!!!!

My scrapbooks are done up to June 2007. I’m going to put the rest of 2007 in a photobook and all of 2008 in another. I’ll do this in January when there is plenty of time and I’m sure, plenty of sales. Now I just have to figure out what to do with all the scrapping supplies I have . . . . I really want that craft table cleaned OFF!!

Leave a Reply

