The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Fabulous Finds

on December 31, 2008

I had to pick up a prescription refill at Target today, and somehow my shopping cart ended up on the Christmas clearance aisle. However, if truth be told, my cart ended up in every conceivable corner of the store except toys and Target’s meager excuse of a hardware department. There is something about Target that I love. I can’t seem to stay out of that place for more than a couple of days at a time. Thankfully there’s now a Target in Wasilla, Alaska so I won’t have to go into withdrawals during my week visit.

Here’s some of what I found:

Fabulous, fancy, fun, and festive foil wrapping paper. The kind I never buy because “I’m not paying THAT price for a measly 20 square feet of wrapping paper.” Well, that and we ain’t the Rockefellers! But at 99 cents a roll I had to indulge. I pretty much depleted our entire Christmas wrapping paper stash this year. I’m shocked at the amount of foresight I showed. And if that’s not shocking enough, let me show you my next find . . . .

Next year’s Christmas cards! I got 100 for $22.50. All I’ll have to do is put a current picture on these babies and send them out. I’m so on top of things this year I might put the pictures on next week. No I won’t. I’m hoping my son will willingly cut his hair at some point this year and I’d like to show that off.


Just last night I was laying on the couch thinking the curtains on the bay window needed something in the corners. I was dreaming of a tassel from one of my favorite Etsy shops, The Nesting Place. But her stuff isn’t exactly cheap and remember the previous Rockefeller comment? In the Christmas aisle at Target I found just what I was looking for. I love gothic, beaded type crosses. And the best part? They were $1.24 on sale. I got two of them and once I get back from Alaska I’ll find some prettier ribbon to hang them with. Here’s a bigger picture of how it looks – I love them.

And last, but certainly not least, I got some new jammies. The reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeall sexy kind. I don’t know whether to post a picture of them or not for fear that your monitor might light on fire due to the hotness of the lingere. Oh let’s live dangerously, shall we? Here ya go (you’ll have to scroll down – I wanted to give you a chance to get your small children out of the room. Don’t say you haven’t been warned.)

I’ll give you a moment to take it in and extinguish any fires if you have to. Yep, nothing says sexy like pink elephants ice skating. And to increase the sexy level, these jammies happen to be made of flannel. I bet you NEVER would have guessed that!! Yes, my husband is a very lucky man!!

I don’t know how much I’ll be on here the next couple of days – I have to get Austin ready for winter camp and myself ready for my big trek to Alaska on Friday. So Happy New Year everyone!! I’ll have internet access in Alaska so I’ll keep you updated on my condition . . . . which will be freezing!

Leave a Reply

