The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Works for Me Wednesday: Prayer Journal

on January 21, 2009

I have always had the best intentions when it came to praying, especially praying for others. But the fact of the matter is I just plain forget most of the time. We’re talking about me. The woman who makes a grocery list and then leaves it at home. And the amount of time that passed from ending the list to leaving the house is less than 5 minutes. So if I want to pray for someone who’s having surgery in a week . . . . . . ah, it’s a hopeless proposal.

Last May when my mom was diagnosed with cancer (she’s in remission now – yay!) I was desperate to get my prayer life in order. It wasn’t that I thought God would answer me more if my prayers were more consistant and organized – it was like I got energized to get my act together.

After much research, I stumbled upon “Prayers of My Heart” by Debbie Williams. The journal is divided into three sections. The first consists of 12 undated monthly calendars. I LOVE this aspect of the journal. I can write down when people are having surgery, going on missions trips, moving, birthdays, etc. It gives me the ability to “remember” to pray for people.

The second section is more for people/things you pray for on an ongoing basis. It is divided into 7 rows for each day of the week, and 12 columns. For instance, my columns are titled for my husband, kids, family, friends, the ministry I work in, my church, other ministries, nation and misc. Mrs. Williams encourages you to use one of these a week. I could never do that. It would be too much writing every week and would overwhelm me. The first set of prayer days lasted me six months.

The third section is for notes . . . . I don’t have to explain that.

It is very exciting to look back over the months and see the amount of things that I have marked as “PTL” when a prayer is answered. And there’s some sadness. One dear soul lost his battle with cancer while I was praying for him. Now I have the honor of praying for his family.

If you don’t have an organized, consistent prayer life, I really recommend this journal.

Join Shannon for more Works for Me Wednesday fun!!

Leave a Reply

