The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Sincerely ‘Fro Me To You – This One Just Hurts

on January 22, 2009


Yep – this post just plain causes me physical pain. So here it is . . . . . . . . .


The year was 1990 and I was a bridesmaid. I bet you never could have figured any of that out on your own. The bride’s sister and I were messing around with the camera before the ceremony.

What is there really to say? It was 1990. Royal blue was a must at every wedding – complete with dyed to match shoes. Please don’t look at how white my skin was yet how tan my legs were. The bow . . . . the drop waist dress that does NOT work on someone who is short waisted . . . . the big hair. Well, the hair can’t be truly appreciated until you see the following picture:

Here we are – me and the bride’s sister, Hannah. Yes, I paid a hefty chunk of change to get my hair to unnaturally stay all over to one side. *sigh* Two years later, Hannah was a bridesmaid in my wedding. Had Polly and Jim not moved to the other side of the country, Polly would have certainly been in my wedding as well.

But as much as it pains me, it would pain me more if all the satin, hairspray and eye shadow were in vain. My dear friends, Polly and Jim are still married!!! They are the proud parents of three boys and are adopting a little girl. Had the marriage not lasted, I might be a tad on the bitter side. Polly and I met when we were 12 and we have stayed in contact all these years. Just so you know, we’re going on 28 years of friendship. God is good.

Join all the fun at Sincerely ‘Fro Me To You at We Are THAT Family.

Leave a Reply

