The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Sincerely ‘Fro Me To You: You know you’re from Alaska when . . . .

on January 29, 2009

I was born and raised in Alaska. Except for a few years during elementary school and the last 5 years, Alaska was home. Things are just different in Alaska. Lots of things. Things that when people visit they are kind of dumbstruck over. But we Alaskans just think it’s normal.

Case in point, my picture for this week. Even if you ignore the peach jumpsuit with a green belt, my obvious lack of a hair style, and whatever kind of face I was making for the camera . . . . . on second thought, how CAN you ignore those things. Lord help a girl. What was UP with me and my apparent “never ready for the camera” self? *heavy sigh*


Anyway, the thing that amuses me about the picture is the use of guns as decor. It also wouldn’t shock me if they were loaded. Because nothing says “I’m an Alaskan” like guns hanging on the wall. This was taken at a friend’s house – actually the friend who had me wear the bridesmaid dress from last week’s ‘Fro Me To You. And I KNOW that neither of my parents had the least bit hesitation about letting me spend the night where firearms were within reach of crazy teenagers.

Yep, it was a different time back then. And by back then I mean 1984 – just in case you were wondering. You can join in the ‘Fro Me To You Fun at We are THAT Family!!

Leave a Reply

