The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The Beagle Has Landed

on February 9, 2009

Well, the Shavers have struck again and we have a new member of the family. Meet Gwen, our six month old beagle. You never saw that one comin’ did ya? Quite frankly, neither did I. In fact, I think I remember waxing quite adamantly that I was NOT getting another pet. Once a pet died, they weren’t getting replaced. Let’s rewind and see how we got to this point in less than 24 hours.

First, let me state emphatically that I’m a dog person. I love dogs. Love, love, love, love, love dogs. I think it was just a matter of time before I started getting the urge to get another dog.

Last night Tyler and I were watching a movie. Belle was just INSANE – jumping on me, over me, running around me, under the cover, running over Tyler, blah, blah, blah. I had noticed lately that she just seemed to have extra energy to burn. She is nearly impossible to play with. She never got the whole “fetch” thing. She loves it when we throw stuff for her to go get, but she thinks part of the game is having us chase her and then get the object out of her mouth. Do you know how hard that is? It’s to the point it’s NO fun. I had been thinking for a while that she needed a playmate that was non-human.

Last night was the breaking point. I decided that I either needed another dog or I needed counseling. So I started looking for a dog last night. By the time it was over, I had Amber on board pledging $160. We just needed to convince Tyler.

Tyler ended up being a pushover about the whole thing and we found a six month old beagle puppy in our newspaper. The story behind her is this . . . . the breeder sold her to an elderly couple. They had EVERYTHING taken care of – spayed, microchipped, up to date on her shots, housetrained, blah, blah, blah. The gentleman of the couple ended up getting very sick and they couldn’t take care of the dog anymore. They called the breeder and asked if she’d sell it for them. Which she did.

And that’s how we ended up with an AKC registered puppy for $200. Unbelievable. When we went to pick her up, the breeder told us her name. It was Ginger! I gasped and said that was our pug’s name that we put to sleep a year ago and we’d probably have to change her name. Since Amber put up the majority of money for the dog, she got to pick the name and she chose Gwen.

So far, she’s great. She’s very calm compared to Belle. Belle isn’t exactly over the moon over the whole deal, but I think she’ll do okay. She just gets confused when this awkward, lumbering pile of puppy lurches at her wanting to play. I think she’s just praying to her chihuahua god that the puppy won’t be here when she wakes up in the morning.

Austin has told me for a long time that he wished he had a dog that was calm – a dog that would just lay on his lap so he could pet it. Well, Gwen fits that bill to a “t”!!! When Austin went to bed tonight he said, “Thank you for getting me my dream dog.” Just melts a mom’s heart.

Leave a Reply

