The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

I Survived! (Maybe a little TMI towards the end . . . . . . )

on February 15, 2009

I did it yet again. I survived February 12, 13 & 14 and am still here to talk about it! At one point, late the evening of the 13th, I was sure I was going to need to be hospitalized for a nervous breakdown, but I made it! Due in large part to my husband and the immense amount of help he was.

So let me give the rundown . . . . . Thursday the 12th was Tyler’s birthday. He had small group that night and I had to take Austin to karate so I knew his celebration would be short. I did manage to make him what he wanted for dinner (pulled pork sandwiches) and a German chocolate cake. OH! Now I know why I was so tired that day. I had to get a lot of stuff done for Amber’s party the next day. Ah-ha! So on top of the cake, I baked two dozen+ cupcakes.

His celebration went great. He had already ordered his gift so there wasn’t much to open . . . . just cards from his parents, sister and my parents. But we had a sweet time together.

Friday I got up way too early and had to make our dining room look like we don’t do school there. I call that room “the room that homeschool ate.” The kids opted to do double school on Thursday so they could have the day of the party off. I had to get everything ready for the party early in the day because I promised Amber and her bff I would take them to Confessions of a Shopaholic, which opened on Amber’s birthday. She has been dying to see it. I think it was a great movie. It gave a realistic scenario of a full blown shopping addiction. And she dug herself out by selling her stuff . . . . . . it wasn’t a cute and easy quick fix. It was also sweet, funny, lighthearted and had just enough romance for the three of us.

By the time the party rolls around, I’m in full blown exhaustion mode. I was just waiting for Tyler to come home so I could get a little help. It was not to be. He ended up working 3 hours overtime . . . . . so I got to deal with the party myself. The girls were good, but I insisted they wait until Tyler got home to have cupcakes and open the presents.

After the festivities, just about the time I’m going to let myself relax, Amber comes upstairs and tells me one of the girls had thrown up. Bless the little girl’s heart, she did make it to the bathroom, but she didn’t manage to get the toilet seat up. Imagine the worst vomit bomb you’ve ever seen exploding in a 1/2 bathroom and you’ll get the picture. Tyler cleaned most of it up as I was doing the “dry heaves while simultaneously wetting your pants” routine.

It’s funny now, but I honestly didn’t know HOW I was going to be able to survive the puke. My man saved the day and said, “I have to clean this stuff out of the back of my patrol car all the time. It doesn’t bother me anymore.” All I could say was a teary, “Thank you,” and go change my clothes.

And then there was Valentine’s Day. I woke up bright and early and made a double batch of pancakes. What joy. What exhilaration. Tyler was off work and helped with absolutely everything . . . . . I would have lost my mind. After all the girls went home, we had our little family V-Day exchange. Cards and candy for the kids, candy for Tyler and cash for me. Sounds HORRIBLY unromantic but it’s what I wanted. I’m trying desperately to save for a Canon Rebel camera and all I wanted was more funds for that.

Then later Tyler gave me my real Valentine’s Day gift. It was four pages typed out of why he loves me. I was bawling like a baby. It was unbelievable . . . . . . I have never been so blessed, yet humbled, in the same breath. I still can’t think about it without getting teary eyed.

So with that, I’ll go. If you’re still reading this, you deserve an award or something. OH!! The puppy just keeps getting better and better. I think we solved the separation anxiety problem. Hallelujah! And now, my Esther Bible study calls . . . . . see you soon!

Leave a Reply

