The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Cheri’s Tip #24

on February 22, 2009

I used to joke that I was going to write a book called “Cheri’s Book O’ Tips.” I have done so much stupid stuff in my life that I felt compelled to share my mistakes with others. In order to help them – not bring massive amounts of humiliation upon myself, which upon further reflection is a natural by-product. That was years ago . . . . maybe even in my college days. The only tip I remember now was “Don’t ever lick a stick of Icy/Hot.” That’s one of those things you just can’t forget.

This weekend I manged to do something that inspired me to resurrect the old idea. So here is what I’ve randomly named my tip #24 . . . . . . . . . . .

Don’t ever go to a marriage conference when you’re sick.

Oh my gravy. Tyler and I were blessed to be able to attend THIS marriage conference for free. The speakers, Jeff & Debby McElroy, have a passion to help military and first responder families. So where ever they speak, those couples are invited to attend as their guests. If you ever, ever have a chance to hear this couple, I highly recommend it. I’ve been to quite a few marriage seminars/retreats/events-that-never-seem-to-end and I’ve never been as blessed or as encouraged as I was with this one. Okay, that’s my plug, now on to the misery.

Friday night started out fine, thanks to the grande half-caf latte my hubby took me to Starbucks to get before the meeting. I don’t know if it wast the half strength caffeine high that had me thinking I felt better or what . . . . but I started the evening all full of optimism. But we all know that had to come to an end.

The coffee ran straight through me and I managed to step on some poor woman’s foot trying to get out of the pew. I couldn’t exactly see her foot because my eyes were all cloudy with sickness. In fact, my eyes proved to be the worst part of the two days. My eyes watered constantly – again, due to being so sick. I was constantly having to wipe the tears away. I just knew everyone around me thought Tyler and I were suffering from every single marriage problem a couple can suffer from.

{I wouldn’t be surprised if we ended up on someone’s prayer list }

I managed to stumble out of the auditorium last night and breeze back in this morning. But early on, I noticed something. My cold medicine was NOT working. I was stuffy, runny, drippy, sneezy and I’m sure a few more of the Seven Dwarfs. Again, I had the constant eye leaking only today I had the added benefit of a runny nose. And the sneezing. Oh, the sneezing. I don’t sneeze like a normal person. I have to sneeze a minimum of four times, up to a maximum of seven. It just never ends. People think Tyler’s rude because he doesn’t immediately say “God bless you.” He’s just waiting to see if I’m really done or if I’m going to crank another one off.

Things got so foggy today . . . . . at one point Tyler was supposed to share something – heck, who can remember – with me. I told him he could say anything because, as I just pointed out, there was a very high likelihood that I would in fact, not remember anything the man had said.

So after four hours, I again stumbled out of the auditorium and headed straight to bed for the rest of the day. I didn’t teach my class tonight at church, because that involves a whole lot more than just sitting. But Sunday I don’t have anything planned so hopefully I’ll be on the mend.

At least I didn’t have a hacking cough throughout the entire conference. I saved that specialty for tonight.

Leave a Reply

