The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Things are going good

on February 25, 2009

Mom is still in the hospital and will be until at least Friday. She is flyin’ high on pain meds – lol. The dr. said the radiation should help with the pain pretty quickly. That’s good news.

We’re all doing well. We had a nice visit with her and managed to laugh about a few things. I think it’s hard for Austin to see mom kind of out of it. I told him it was just the pain meds. She was up and around, just kind of loopy. She told us she’d make a really bad drunk. Then she told a guy visiting his wife in the bed next to her that she never wanted to have kids but my dad begged her. And if she wasn’t going to have one he wanted to adopt. She said she told him, “Well, I can at least TRY to have a kid.” It was so funny. She said as soon as she saw my little newborn face, everything changed. And it did. She’s been a fantastic mom.

She and my dad were planning a trip to Hawaii the first of March. She told the doctor she should probably cancel it. He told her not to canel – just postpone. She was happy about that.

I feel good and positive. I’m really prepared for anything and what will be will be. I’ve had almost a year to prepare myself for whatever comes along and I feel I’ve dealt with the acceptance factor. God’s been so good to me. One of my friends told me that her biggest fear is her mom getting sick. I told her it used to be one of mine. But now my biggest fear is having to go through something like this without God. And guess what? I never do. So I really don’t have any major fears anymore. He’s proven Himself beyond faithful!

Leave a Reply

