The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Works For Me Wednesday: God Language

on March 25, 2009

This book by Dr. Myra Perrine is amazing!!! It talks about the nine spiritual temperaments (as first defined by Gary Thomas in “Spiritual Pathways”), which one(s) is yours and how it can help you connect with God better.


The book asserts – and I wholeheartedly agree – that many Christians are frustrated with their walk with God because they *think* that in order to connect with Him, they have to do what everyone else is doing. So while some people might connect with God with in-depth Bible study, others might get frustrated because they don’t feel the same connection and fulfillment.

There are two inventories to take of yourself that helps point you in the right direction. I knew what two of my high areas were going to be (and they were), yet I was completely surprised by the third. Upon her description of the third, I knew it fit me like a glove.

I appreciate the way Dr. Perrine presents the information. None of it is given to you like doctrine. She doesn’t try to add to the Bible nor does she use “twisted Scripture” to prove her point. It just is what it is. And it’s beautiful. Now I understand why certain things in the Christian life appeal so much to me, and why certain things don’t.

I love God’s creation. I can see Him in nature, but it’s not one of the ways I connect to Him. For years I’ve wondered if there’s something wrong with me because I seem to be surrounded by people who just freak out over nature. Guess what? Nothing’s wrong with me!! It just isn’t one of my “God languages.”

For more WFMW fun, check out Kristen’s site: We are THAT Family.

Leave a Reply

