The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

How Sweet It Is . . . . . .

on March 31, 2009

. . . . . to be loved by my daughter. I had such a wonderful afternoon with my girl and just wanted to record it. So this blog is for me so I don’t forget.

I’m not naive enough to believe that my daughter will always be a shot of pure sunshine. She’s 11. For all I know this could be the last heavenly afternoon we spend together until she climbs out of her teenage years. I really hope it isn’t, but I’ll treasure this in my heart forever. Afterall, she’s already had her first mega-emotional-meltdown on the way to church a few weeks ago. So much so that I had to leave her in the car to gather herself before she came in. She hasn’t done that since she was two. And she only ever did it once. I hope history has a way of repeating itself!

We went to the mall today to try to find something for my mother in law for Mother’s Day. I knew exactly what we were looking for, but if Grandma Betty reads this, I don’t want to ruin it for her!! Upon exiting the car we both complained about what the wind was doing to our hair. We got done positioning our heads for minimal wind damage and then it happened. She reached out and grabbed my hand. I was just kind of stunned.

She holds my hand when we go on walks and when we’re at the dog park. But those are pretty private places. We’re talking the only mall in town with everyone on spring break. There was no chance she wasn’t going to be seen by plenty of kids her own age.

I smiled to myself and figured she’d do the hand drop as soon as we got into Macy’s. Nope. She held on . . . . . basically for our entire outing. I bought her some bubble tea and she didn’t have a free hand to hold. So I tested the waters and put my arm around her shoulders. I asked her if she wanted me to take my arm away and she said no. And when she finished the bubble tea, she held on to my arm for dear life because she was suddenly freezing!

Karen Kingsbury wrote a book called “Let Me Hold You Longer.” The main idea of the book is to not only rejoice in your kid’s firsts, but also in their lasts. She spoke at a tea I attended at church and she focused on this book. Needless to say I was a puddle of tears at the end of her talk. And I thought about that talk today. This might be the last time Amber willingly holds my hand in public. That’s okay . . . . she’s allowed to grow up. But I made sure I savored every second of the affection I got today!

Leave a Reply

