The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Some dumb things I’ve done

on April 6, 2009

Exposing this much forehead would qualify

This is such a rich area, I might have to continue it on for days . . . . . . I just feel the need to purge so here goes.

  • Took my kids to Mt. St. Helens on the 25th anniversary of the eruption. I had no clue there would be so many people there crying and placing wreaths at the observatory. No. Clue.
  • Saw “I Am Legend” four days after putting our beloved pug to sleep.
  • Brought home an untrained adult English Setter. He went back to the rescue in a couple weeks.
  • Let my son go outside in a baby walker. He ended up on his head in a ditch.
  • Going to Boise, Idaho to see a friend in August.
  • Said friend and I thought it would be a GREAT idea to float down the Boise river with the two of us and 6 children. After three of them fell out of the raft and we got stuck, we walked about a mile back to our car in the 95 degree heat carrying all our stuff.
  • Shave my legs while dry (I can thank my mom for that lovely piece of advice).
  • Watch the Christmas ships on the Columbia river and think anyone in my family would like it except for me.
  • Give my daughter peanuts when she was 14 months old. It ended up in surgery for her. (This is officially the DUMBEST thing I’ve ever done.)
  • Encouraging my son to grow his hair out. I didn’t think he’d never want to get it cut ever again.
  • Thinking I could babysit a toddler and still homeschool my kids (that was very short lived, Praise the LORD!).
  • Putting a $500 deposit on an apartment before my husband saw it. He hated it and we lost the $500.
  • Becoming friends too quickly with someone who turned out to be a type of maniac.
  • Bending over a high school pool to talk to Amber while fully clothed with my cell phone clipped on my belt. Cell phone ended up in the pool.
  • Bending over an open salt water table with a camera around my neck.
  • Thinking the popping and cracking I was hearing in the elevator after my camera dunking was the elevator malfunctioning and I would save the day by telling someone.
  • The popping and cracking was my camera. Which was still around my neck.
  • About 10 years ago, not taking my diamond earrings out before going to a swimming pool with water slides.
  • I now have a diamond earring.

I guess that’s all for tonight. And I didn’t even touch the years before Tyler and kids.

Leave a Reply

