The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

on April 12, 2009

Photo Credit

Most all of you know I go to church on Saturday night. No religious reason, it’s a space problem reason. Our church building isn’t big enough for the throngs of people that attend. So tonight (Saturday) we had our Easter services.

Church tonight was packed – as one expects on Christmas and Easter. Apparently the people in the two rows in front of me didn’t realize it was a church service. Hey, I don’t care what they thought it was. Call it a “public speaking event” for all that matters. But these people would NOT SHUT UP. When we were singing they spoke OVER the singing (I get very irritated when people talk during congregational singing, but that’s another blog for another time). I don’t know if they were church attenders or not, but they were old enough to know plain manners. The grandma of the group (and the only quiet one) does go to our church so who knows.

It was awful. Tyler wrote me a note that said, “Alien life forms.” Then he wrote, “I guess they need to be in church.” Yes they did, but they needed to listen, too. If not for their own good, but for the good of everyone around them. I’m guessing this was just one thing they needed to do to check off the list to feel good about themselves. Love Jesus, don’t love Jesus. Love church, don’t love church. Whatever. Just please be quiet, do yourself a favor and listen!

I probably wasn’t in the best frame of mind due to the movie we went to see today. The guy behind me was talking non-stop to his daughter. Talk through the previews – fine. Talk through the opening credits – fine. But then SHUT UP!! Not this guy. He had to explain every everything to his daughter who appeared to be about 9 and keeping up just fine. Then she started talking . . . . Amber and I moved to the other side of the row. It was nice and quiet over there.

Then I proceeded to take a 45 minute nap. Sorry. Kids’ movies just don’t do it for me anymore. It was the best nap I’ve had in ages.

Leave a Reply

