The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

I owe my dog an apology

on April 20, 2009

She looks so pathetic in this picture
.


Yeah, this one. I owe her one big time apology. We hadn’t ever taken her to the dog park because she’s such a terror at home. Just ask Harriet’s dog, Sam. Or my neighbor’s dog, Sparky. Or any of the cats, squirrels, birds or rabbits that dare to set foot in our back yard.

She is so territorial. She barks at people walking on the sidewalk in front of the house. She barks at the American flag we have hanging on the front of the house if it waves the wrong way. She barks and growls at any person who comes into the house. She was even barking at Amber walking down the stairs today. Any guesses as to why I didn’t want to deal with her at the dog park.

But I thought I might as well give her a chance. There is an area for small dogs at the park and I figured if worse came to worse, I could take her in there. I don’t know why I thought that would be a good solution, but I did.

Getting her and Gwen from the car to the park was interesting. They were both so excited they kept tangling up their leashes around me and Amber. But we got there and I did the dreaded duty – took Belle off leash. And what happened from that moment on until we left an hour later will always be fresh in my mind. My chihuahua was perfectly behaved. When I say she had perfect dog park manners, what I really mean is she had perfect dog park manners. You could write a “how to” brochure on how she acted.

I was in shock. There was no growling, no barking, no running people away from me, no insane behavior I’ve come to expect from my dog. I don’t really get why she was so good . . . . nor do I care. What I do know is that she earned herself a spot on any and every dog park excursion for the rest of her life.

Oh, Belle. Who knew you had it in you?

Leave a Reply

