The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

~Simplifying~

on April 23, 2009

In an effort to try to curb my time on the computer, I’ve decided I’m only uploading pictures I’ve taken on Facebook. You can request to be my friend if you want – Cheri Blanton Chavers. Ahhhhh, the cat is out of the bag about my last name. Chavers. There it is, in living color. CHAY-vurz. Seven little letters that are capable of causing quite a ruckus every now and then!

I’m still going to blog on Multiply and Blogger. I just have too many friends on Multiply to leave it completely. However, if it eats one more post I’m going to scream.

Alrighty – on to what’s been going on around here. We went to OMSI to see DaVinci, The Genuis. It was just amazing. Especially the “Secrets of the Mona Lisa” gallery. Oh my! No, no “DaVinci Code” secrets, but secrets to how it was painted, how it had been restored, how the paint is degenerating, etc. Things no one could really know unless they too had a 240-million pixel camera to photograph the Mona Lisa. From there, they could dissect the picture layer by layer on computer. Fascinating!

We also had a fun outing to Lewisville Park on Monday. It’s a beautiful park north of us and it has the Lewis river running right through it. Amber was brave enough to get her toes wet in the river. Me? Not so much. But it was nice to walk around in the sun and not be cold! And by some mysterious grace, I didn’t get sunburned!

The kids started track on Monday. It was an amazing turnout – easily over 100 kids. They both did so well and I was so proud of them. Proud of Austin because he was exhausted from a weekend at the beach with the youth group and he still gave it his all. Amber because she fell once but didn’t let it bother her. They were doing grapevine type exercises and she took a tumble. They both enjoyed it a lot. Their first meet is May 4 . . . . . we’ll see how that goes!

A great thing about the practices are that the kids don’t use the entire track the whole time. Which means the parents can walk – which a lot of them do. I’m going to get Tyler to show me how to download books onto my MP3 player. I think part of me just died and went to heaven! Walking, listening to books, not worrying about leaving the kids at home while I do my “thing.” Yeeeeehawwwwww!

Leave a Reply

