The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Anatomy of a desecration . . . . .

on April 28, 2009

I have this amazing friend named Candice. She is talented, generous, hilarious, loving, kind and absolutely beautiful. The kind of person it would be so easy to hate if she wasn’t so. stinking. wonderful. I kid you not. I was stranded in Seattle with her and her mom on 9/11 for 5 days – you really get to know a person under those types of conditions. Anyway, here’s a picture of her and her daughter on Easter.

Candice’s only flaw is that she seems to think her gift for drawing free hand is something many, many others possess. She posted a picture on Facebook recently of a chalk outline she did of Ariel from “The Little Mermaid” and Elmo on her driveway so her kids could color it in. I, of course, commented that I didn’t even want to KNOW who drew it because: a) I actually did know, and b) I was harboring some seriously sinful jealousy.

Candice tritely replied that she copied it from a coloring book. I *think* she might have added that “anyone” could do it. Maybe not. At this point the jealously is making everything look like a hazy shade of green and I really don’t remember all the particulars. It was then I told her that I would soon be drawing a chalk Ariel of my own and she’d see that it actually does take some talent to do what she did.

So yesterday was the big day. I dug out the vat of sidewalk chalk we have accumulated over the years:

And I picked the most hidden from my neighbors perfect place to do my drawing . . . . It just so happened to be in the backyard behind the 6 foot fence. My kids made me do it there because earlier in the day they were wailing, “You’re going to do it out front?? Where all the neighbors can see?” It’s a good thing I don’t value my self worth on what my kids think of me.

Here’s the unsuspecting sidewalk! How fitting that it’s right next to all the trash cans . . . .

I even downloaded a coloring page of Ariel and Elmo. I am nothing if not prepared.

Soooooooooo, here is my finished product.

Shocking in so many ways, isn’t it? Here’s an upclose of her upper body, if you can call it that . . . . . . .

And because Candice had to throw in a perfectly drawn Elmo, I tried my hand at that too. Don’t stare at him too long.

I don’t know if I was happy to prove my point or not. All I do know is that last night as it was pouring rain, all I could think of was my hard work in the back yard. Well, that and Michael W. Smith’s song “Healing Rain.”

Healing rain is coming down
It’s coming nearer to this old town
Rich and poor, weak and strong
It’s bringing mercy, it won’t be long

3 responses to “Anatomy of a desecration . . . . .

  1. Melissa Griffin says:

    ha ha I’m laughing a little bit. Her bottom parts look pretty good. She has swimmers shoulders though. Love you kids reaction.

  2. rachesak says:

    I was thinking, “hey that’s pretty good! Oh….”

Leave a Reply

