The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Works For Me Wednesday: Book Giveaway!

on June 3, 2009

Welcome to the “Mooooooooooooooooooom, I’m bored” edition of Works For Me Wednesday. And I have two books to giveaway on that very subject!!

Many moons ago I was perusing a bookstore and these two books by Steve and Ruth Bennett caught my eye (prepare to ignore the mom jeans, big hair and yellow boy shorts on the covers. Let’s admit it, we were all guilty):


365 T.V. Free Activities You Can Do With Your Child was JUST what I was looking for at that time in my life. I think the thing that is really great about these books is that the vast majority of the activities takes very simple things you can find around your house. I’m not talking, “very simple if you’re the queen of all craft supplies,” or “very simple if you save everything you ever use.” I’m talking twigs, pebbles, pencil, paper, cotton balls, or nothing at all but your time!

Obviously, these are more geared towards the toddler and pre-school set. I don’t think my 13 and 11 year old would appreciate going on a walk and counting things you’ve never noticed before, like cracks in the sidewalk or how many branches a tree has. The activities are really fun for the little ones! I remember one activity was staging an obstacle course in your living room. THAT one was a hit.

So now for the exciting part of my blog. If you leave a comment, you will automatically be entered to win one of the two books. Yes, they’re my original copies, but they’re in almost new condition. So I’ll close my comments on Saturday @ 12:00 noon Pacific and choose two winners at that time and post who they are!!! (If you don’t have a Blogger account, make sure you check back Saturday afternoon when I post the winners.)

And if you don’t want to take your chances in the drawing, half.com has the original 365 T.V. Free Activities book for a really good price.

Join the “Mom, I’m Bored” edition of Works For Me Wednesday HERE.

Leave a Reply

