The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

They found another tumor

on June 20, 2009

My mom has been having a lot of neck and shoulder pain the past couple of weeks. They decided to do an MRI to see what was going on. And they found another small tumor. She immediately started radiation today and will continue on Monday. The doctor said it was pretty small. We’re all hoping she responds as well to the radiation as she did last time.

I was prepared for this. But I’m also hoping for the best. We’re all here on God’s time and on His agenda. And no matter how awful or hopeless a situation might seem, I know one thing: everything that happens is sandwiched between His sovereignty and His deep, deep love for us. It’s as if those two things are the bookends and we live life in between.

I’m not really into country music. Okay, that’s a major understatement!! But there’s a song by JoDee Messina that pops up on my Pandora playlist every now and again. The chorus is sort of my outlook on my mom’s cancer . . . . . .

Another day has almost come and gone
Can’t imagine what else could wrong
Sometimes I’d like to hide away somewhere and lock the door
A single battle lost but not the war (‘cause)

Tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So bring on the rain

It’s almost like the hard times circle ‘round
A couple drops and they all start coming down
Yeah, I might feel defeated,
I might hang my head
I might be barely breathing – but I’m not dead

Tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So bring on the rain

Leave a Reply

