The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Puttin’ Up

on June 28, 2009

Awhile back I might have mentioned that I was going to a pickling class. Who knows. At this point, my blog life for June is one big blur. I really can’t believe after I’m done with this blog, I only have three more left for NaBloPoMo.

Well, I managed to get my act together and pickle some french green beans. I even went whole hog and bought a real, certified water bath canner.


Photo Credit

My canner is very similar to this one . . . . .and I have the crazy tongs, funnel and magnetic lid lifter. In my defense, I have not recently gone crazy. The only thing I’ve purchased recently is the canner . . . . . .I’ve had everything else for years.

Wednesday I had some time to myself and I finally pickled the green beans. All of my cans lids sealed (oh the joy!) and I only had one explode in the canner. It was due to my trying something stupid to get the water off the top of the lid. But it exploded in the water so there was no splash or anything. When I heard the “bang” I literally thought, “When is the pain from the boiling water on my chest going to start?”

They turned out so cute!!! I have to wait four weeks for the proper taste to develop. I’ll be canning and/or pickling something else very soon. It was fun!

I also bought a crock to make sauerkraut. So far, it’s gone well. But, it also needs a few weeks to fully ferment. Here’s picture of it fermenting away:


I’m using red cabbage because that’s what I tasted at the pickling party that got me all hot and bothered to make sauerkraut. I think I might have another two or three weeks to wait. After that, I’m going to make real kosher dill pickles in my little crockie! It’s so nice because the trough at the top hermetically seals the ‘kraut so I don’t have to scoop off the scum that can accumulate if you do it a different way.

Okay, that’s probably more than you ever wanted to know about fermenting cabbage!!

Leave a Reply

