The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

I Don’t Like Pie

on July 30, 2009
Bake at 350

I’ll say it again. I. don’t. like. pie.

Which I think came as a huge surprise/downer to my husband once I married him. Because if I don’t like pie, I’m not gonna make it. I’m a giver that way.

Fast forward 17 years to this past 4th of July. I was for some reason yet unknown to me, in a wad to do a bunch of cooking and baking. It was just going to be the four of us for the celebration, but I wanted to make it special nonetheless.

And then I remembered that I still had some frozen blueberries that I had picked last year. And had thawed them because I was going to do something else, but couldn’t find the stupid Clear Jel I needed anywhere around here. I guess it’s very popular with the Amish and there aren’t many Amish who could help me get my hands on it around here. *sigh* I did finally find some in Battleground and that’s almost Amish country at times. And thinking that in my head made me literally laugh out loud at myself at my wit and sarcasm. Wow, did you even want to hear any of this?? Moving on . . . . . .

I decided to make a blueberry pie, so I revved up the computer and went to my favorite recipe site of all time . . . . . . Recipezaar.com and I found this recipe:

Blueberry Pie

5 cups fresh blueberries
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 (15 ounce) package refrigerated pie crusts
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon sugar

1. SPRINKLE berries with lemon juice; set aside.

2. FIT half of pastry in a 9-inch pieplate according to package directions.

3. COMBINE 1 cup sugar and next 3 ingredients; add to berries, stirring well.

4. Pour into pastry shell, and dot with butter.

5. UNFOLD remaining pastry on a lightly floured surface; roll gently with rolling pin to remove creases in pastry.

6. Place pastry over filling; seal and crimp edges.

7. Cut slits in top of crust to allow steam to escape.

8. Brush top of pastry with beaten egg, and sprinkle with 1 teaspoon sugar BAKE at 400° for 35 minutes or until golden.

9. Cover edges with aluminum foil to prevent overbrowning, if necessary.

10. Serve with vanilla ice cream, if desired.

And it turned out cute, to boot (ignore the misshapen stars and the “gah she had no clue what she’s doing crust edge”):


This was the best blueberry pie I have ever had!! And I’m not just saying it because I slaved over the grocery store refrigerator to buy the pre-packaged crust. Everyone in my family went nuts for it. Of course, I think the real reason it turned out is because I got the blueberries from my friend Lisa’s parent’s blueberry farm last year. I just replenished my stock with their beautiful berries a couple of weeks ago!! If you live near me, I’ll let you in on where the stash is.

This is a new blog carnival that you can find all about here. See ya around!

Leave a Reply

